DSC_0112

I’m kicking this blog off right: with dessert!

This afternoon, I made cocoa bean brownies, found via Tastespotting. They contain actual beans, but not cocoa beans, and cocoa powder. I used a can of good old cannellinis. Sounds weird, right?

These are gluten-free and I had all the ingredients in the fridge/cabinet, so I just had to throw them into the blender. Easy peasy, lemon squeezy. I like the idea of sneaking a little protein into brownies.

I have to say, these are not that different from regular brownies. The texture is nice and light, and not too fudgy. However, they fall apart in your hands, and definitely have a touch of that bitter cocoa taste. The brown sugar apparently wasn’t enough to balance it out. The original recipe says to use melted chocolate; I have a feeling that would taste better. There is a hint of a beany taste, but if I didn’t know that there was a can of beans in my brownies, I’d never notice.

All in all, I think I’d make these again with a little tweaking.

The ball’s in your court, Gwen!

